Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Topsites

Visitors since Aug 21, 2006:

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of twelve stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle illustrated by Sidney Paget.

They were originally published in the Strand Magazine from July 1891 to June 1892. The book was published on October 14, 1892 by George Newnes Ltd and on October 15 in a U.S. edition by Harper. The initial combined print run was 14,500 copies.

The twelve adventures are:

  1. A Scandal in Bohemia

  2. The Red-headed League

  3. A Case of Mistaken Identity

  4. The Boscombe Valley Mystery

  5. The Five Orange Pips

  6. The Man with the Twisted Lip

  7. The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle

  8. The Adventure of the Speckled Band

  9. The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb

  10. The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor

  11. The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet

  12. The Adventure of the Copper Beeches