The Canon

The Canon refers to the set of 60 original stories (56 short stories, 4 novels) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Any book written by another author, while still being a Holmes story, is considered outside the Canon.

In the United Kingdom and Canada, the stories are now out of copyright. In the United States, the last dozen of them, those published after 1919, are still protected by copyright.


The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

  1. A Scandal in Bohemia
  2. The Red-headed League
  3. A Case of Mistaken Identity
  4. The Boscombe Valley Mystery
  5. The Five Orange Pips
  6. The Man with the Twisted Lip
  7. The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
  8. The Adventure of the Speckled Band
  9. The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb
  10. The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
  11. The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
  12. The Adventure of the Copper Beeches

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

The Return of Sherlock Holmes

His Last Bow

The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes


Hello world!

Welcome to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – His Life, All His Works and more…

The website is currently undergoing a major reconstruction and is now powered by WordPress. This should ensure a better user experience.

Until then all pages of the website are available in our archives.

If you have any feedback, feel free to drop it into the comments section below or contact us.